~ A Conversation About Snow ~ (a Christmas Memory)   2 comments

Fireplace-Live-HD_2-1024x640[1]

The couple was curled up on a blanket on the floor in front of the fireplace.  It was a cool December evening and they were enjoying the warmth of the fire.  Heads propped up on pillows, a quiet conversation ensued…..

“Tell me again about the snow…, please.”

“It’s white, and cold, and if it sticks on you it will make your clothes wet, just like rain, only colder”.

“Oh, come on now…, I want to see it, hold it, taste it, feel it on my nose, and throw snowballs at you.  I’ve never seen it for real, darlin’.  I want to build a snowman, make a snow angel, go sledding, go ice skating, even if I don’t know how.  I want to take a long walk through the snow with you on a moonlit night.  It would all be just so much fun, and so exciting.”

couple-kissing-in-the-snow[1]

“Alright sweetness, you win!  We’ll go…, maybe right after the New Years holiday when the holiday traffic has settled down.  You can meet my family and we can do some of those things that you want.  Who knows, I might have fun too.”

“About Christmas, honey, Pops always has this Christmas Eve party for his important clients and people and he will want us to put in an appearance…, but after a short while we can slip away.  Barb called me today and she and Ed, and John and Carol would like to get together and spend the evening. None of them are going back home for the holidays.  We’re even going to invite Panzerella, with or without a date.”

“Well, if Pops is having a party here, where can we get together?  The only place I can think of is the carriage house.  It’s not finished yet though, but we could have a fire in the fireplace, and the bathrooms are functional, but I can’t think of anyplace else.  Do you have any ideas?”

“Well, Barb said that, if we couldn’t find anywhere else, she’d see if she could arrange something at the hotel…..”

“Not to worry, darlin’.  It’ll all work out.”

She rolled over, sat on his stomach,  pinned his shoulders to the floor, and looked down into his eyes with a smile…, at which he pulled her into his arms and down against his chest.  She kissed his neck  and gave him a mischievous smile.

“You’d better be careful little girl.  That’s been reported to have started uncontrollable fires, you know.”

“Really ?”

“Mmm hmm…, uncontrollable !”

She unbuttoned the top two buttons of his shirt and kissed his throat.

“You’re being a very naughty girl, you know?”

“Naughty…, or nice ?”

“Mmmmm, well, nicely naughty.  Is Santa going to approve of this?”

“Well, I just think he might.  Mrs. Claus might have a thing or two to say about it.  Bet she’s been naughty a few times.”

What makes you think so?”

“Well, where do you think all those little elves come from ?”

“Ha ha ha, you are very  naughty tonight…, and I love it…, I love you.”

“I love you too, my darlin’ man.  In my wildest dreams I never dreamed I would love someone like I love you.  You just make me so very happy all the time…, all the time, sweetheart.”

Pops found them about 1:a.m.  The fire had burned down to embers and they were curled up together, fast asleep in each other’s arms.  He quietly laid another blanket over them and went upstairs to bed.

imagesXM0IILSB

Good Night Everybody !

2 responses to “~ A Conversation About Snow ~ (a Christmas Memory)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sweet and lovely.

  2. Lovely Christmas story Paul!

Leave a Reply

