Permission   6 comments

1[1]

Sometimes when it’s quiet

And I’m sitting all alone

I permit my thoughts to wander

And allow my heart to roam

***

It’s in these reflective moments

That I’m most at peace it seems

When I give myself permission

To reach out and touch my dreams.

**************************************************

imagesCA0CQSNA

It’s a warm, peaceful day and I’m wandering again.  There’s no one else here, just me, the mountains, a rushing stream, the trees, and one lone Stellar Jay.  I walk along the rocky bank to an area that’s a bit more open, where there are a few less bushes and overhanging limbs and sit to assemble my rod and attach my reel.  That’s an easy, practiced process that takes only a minute or two.  Deciding which fly will entice a hungry trout to strike is a different matter.  I sit and study the bushes and the stream for a while, watching to see if there’s a mayfly hatch and then I’ll see which of the flies I’ve tied will best match them.  Nothing’s happening!  Looks like it could be a while.  I reach inside my backpack and grab a bottle of water and a sandwich, then turn to continue my observations.  I’d almost finished the sandwich when I saw a small cloud of insects across the stream.  It was a hatch of Caddis flies.  Reaching into my box, I selected my best imitation of it and attached it to my line.  It had been years since I’d used my fly rod but, like riding a bicycle, there are some things that you just don’t forget how to do.  With a slow practiced rythm I began the repetition of the cast and allowed my fly to drop into the water just below the swarming hatch of natural flies.  Patiently I payed out the line and permitted the current to take the fly downstream across pools and rocks where trout normally lurked.  Just as I was about to give up and reel in the line it went taut and the trout surfaced, hooked and fighting…..  And then I woke up and realized that I was still in bed and it was 3:00a.m.

************************************

… and it was such a nice dream… !!!

***************************

*****************

6 responses to “Permission

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful and very introspective. To give ourselves the permission to flow and wander to the places our heart yearns to go (but we often will not permit) ~ Very lovely reflection ! Peace to you ~ Robyn

  2. Ahhh such are dreams.

  3. You had me going, I could see it all, the fly rod dancing, the trout ready to bite, and SLAM! The story ends….Pfftt! It’s like watching trailers of A River Runs Through It .

  4. I permit my thoughts to wander
    And allow my heart to roam

    Indeed we need time to do this.
    Thank you for reminding Paul, wonderful and helpful posts.

    Blessings,
    mei

Leave a Reply

